Sanibel-Captiva Lion’s Club Awards Francis Bailey Scholarships for 2019

L to R: Lyn Kern, Lion’s Club Scholarship Committee; Bill Sartoris, Lion’s Club President & Scholarship Committee Member; Isabella DeCosta, Scholarship Recipient; Valerie Tutor, Lion’s Club Scholarship Committee Chair. Not pictured: Jenna Kjoller, Scholarship Recipient

The Sanibel-Captiva Lion’s Club are pleased to announce the recipients of its Francis Bailey Lions Scholarship Awards for 2019. Isabella DeCosta and Jenna Kjoller join five (5) other multi-year scholarship winners currently pursuing their educational goals. They are Deanna Craig, Lauren Lockard, Sam Arensman, Gabriele Gedvilaite and Anna Kjoller.

Isabella, a recent graduate of Evangelical Christian School, plans to attend Virginia Military Institute pursing a degree in International Studies; Jenna, an early enrollee at the University of Florida, graduated from the International Baccalaureate Program at Fort Myers High School. 

Jenna Kjoller, Lion’s Club Scholarship Recipient

Deserving students who are living or working on Sanibel & Captiva or whose families live or work on the islands are eligible to apply for the Francis Bailey Lions Scholarship Awards. Students may be enrolled in college, universities or vocational/technical schools. Applications are reviewed each year by the Scholarship Committee and awards are made in June.  As long as award recipients continue to meet the eligibility requirements, the scholarship award will continue for four years or until graduation, whichever is earlier.

The Lion’s Club congratulates Isabella and Jenna and wish them success in their studies during the coming year. We are proud of our young islanders and excited for their future. 

For more information on the Sanibel-Captiva Lion’s Club and/or the Francis Bailey Scholarship program, you can go to the website at http://www.sanibelcaptivalions.orgor contact Valerie Tutor, Scholarship Committee Chair at 239.834.8141.